French Spain germany italy
Jewellery Quarter Store Delivery
Jewellery Quarter Store Delivery
Jewellery Quarter Store Delivery
The National Association of Jewellers

Diamond Buyers Guide

Diamond Buyers Guide

The most important things to consider when you purchase a diamond are the 4 Cs - cut, clarity, colour, and carat weight.  A universally used grading system for diamonds, which determines its value and rarity.


Diamond Cut

The brilliance of a diamond depends heavily on its cut, as it is the diamond's reflective qualities.  Diamonds are cut by skilled craftsmen to bring out the very best in a diamond.


Diamond Clarity

Most diamonds contain inclusions (flaws) which occur naturally and give each diamond its own unique characteristics. Most inclusions are invisible to the naked eye. The fewer inclusions in the diamond, the greater the clarity and the more valuable it is.

Guide to diamond clarity classification:

F = Flawless

IF = Internally Flawless

VVS1 and VVS2 = Very Very Slightly Included, very difficult to see with 10x magnification

VS1and VS2 = Very Slightly Included seen only with 10x magnification

SI1 SI2and SI3 = Slightly Included easily seen with 10x magnification

I1and I2 and I3 = Included and visible to the naked eye.


Diamond Colour

Colourless diamonds are the most expensive and sought after, as they tend to sparkle more.  The more colour a diamond contains, the less sparkle, and therefore less desirable and valuable.  Whiteness is graded with a colour scale that begins at D for colourless and ends with Z for a brownish-yellow


Colourless = DEF,

Near Colourless = GHIJ,

Faint Yellow = KLM,

Very Light Yellow = NOPQR,

Light Yellow = STUVWX and on…


Diamond Carat

This is a measure of a diamond’s weight, not its size. The larger the carat weight the rarer and more valuable it becomes.

Back To Jewellery Sale